Freecom DVB-T + Analog TV USB Stick on Ubuntu 7.10 + Kaffeine

31 October 2007 at 12:45 am 22 comments

I’m experimenting some problems with Ubuntu 8.04!!!

First of all I must be grateful to my dear friend Francesco Cabras a.k.a. Paneb for the help he gave to me during this installation (and not only in this circumstance).

In reality this USB stick works with an integrated Video decoder and USB bridge IC from Trident. I finally found the answer to this difficult installation on this page with instructions for the TV-Master TM6000. Notice that you may be sure about your chipset by reading the USB id:

lsusb

you should have an output like this:

Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 14aa:0620 AVerMedia (again) or C&E
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

In particular the experimental driver provides basic DVB-T support for devices with the USB id 14aa:0620.

The main steps:

1) Be sure to have “mercurial” package installed. If not try “sudo apt-get install mercurial“. Clone a v4l-dvb tree in a directory of your choice.

$ hg clone http://linuxtv.org/hg/v4l-dvb

2) Apply the Makefile patch (you’ll probably need a “sudo apt-get install patch“) to the tree (which allows to build the driver later on)

$ cd v4l-dvb
$ wget http://colabti.de/~feb/tm6000-makefile-dvb-tree.patch
$ patch -p1 < tm6000-makefile-dvb-tree.patch

3) Download the driver and extract it

$ cd linux/drivers/media/video/
$ wget http://colabti.de/tm6000/tm6000.tar.gz
$ tar xvzf tm6000.tar.gz

4) Compile everything

$ cd ../../../../
$ make

5) Install everything

$ su -c "make install"

6) Remove all the V4L/DVB modules that are currently loaded (or alternatively reboot the system) and load the driver module

$ su -c "make rmmod; /sbin/modprobe tm6000"

7) Copy the file “tridvid.sys” from the installation CD into a directory of your choice

8 ) Extract the firmware files

$ dd if=tridvid.sys ibs=1 skip=145441 count=2632 of=tm6000-firmware1
$ dd if=tridvid.sys ibs=1 skip=148089 count=3870 of=tm6000-firmware2

9) Copy the firmware files to the firmware directory

$ su -c "cp tm6000-firmware1 /lib/firmware; cp tm6000-firmware2 /lib/firmware"
10) Reboot.

After this you can use for example a program like Kaffeine to use your DVB-T usb adapter. I use the antenna bundle with the adapter and with the AUTO scan option I found some channels to test the effective behavior of Kaffeine. I just had the following problem : xine can’t find demux. I solved it by installing libxine1-ffmpeg with apt-get (thanks to UbuntuForums.org).

Entry filed under: DVB, hardware, how-to, Ubuntu, video.

Musicovery Dlink DFW-500 Firewire Controller on Ubuntu 7.10 + Kino

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jared  |  21 December 2007 at 5:39 am

    Thank you, worked perfectly.

    However, one thing I found odd! tridvid.sys does not show up when I access the CD in ubuntu, however if I access the CD in XP it shows, so I had to copy it onto a memory stick then load up ubuntu and grab it off the memory stick.

    Reply
  • 2. Mario  |  25 January 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Your guide is very good.
    I have DVB-T USB STICK
    It’s a digital terrestral reciver on usb 2.0

    In my cd not present tridvid.sy

    What can i do????

    Plesa help me

    Sorry for my english. I’m italian

    Ciao e grazie

    Reply
  • 3. nexthing  |  26 January 2008 at 10:08 am

    Hi Mario.
    Did you try to follow instructions of previous comment? Anyway if you don’t get the file please send me an email and I can send it. You can write in italian too, as I am italian as well!!
    Bye. Andrea

    Reply
  • 4. Daniel  |  2 February 2008 at 12:19 am

    Hi Andrea,

    the linuxtv.org wiki page says that the “ADS Tech Mini Dual TV (PTV-339) (USB ID 06e1:b339)” also uses the TM6000.
    Unfortunately there is no tridvid.sys on the driver cd.
    I hope you can send me that file too.

    greetings from germany,
    daniel

    Reply
  • 5. david  |  11 February 2008 at 11:05 pm

    What a find! I have exactly one of these, but have never managed to get it to work. Having also recently upgraded to 64bit, and to Suse 10.3 – it seems not to understand the command ‘hg’, so I can’t even begin to get started. AAAAaaargh. suse 10.3 had no driver for it as far as I can see, though it does have a driver for my ancient analog pci card.

    all help gratefully recieved

    Reply
  • 6. mitics  |  24 February 2008 at 11:56 pm

    @david:
    To use hg, get the “mercurial” package for your Linux distribution.

    Cheers,
    mitics

    Reply
  • 7. n00by  |  25 February 2008 at 1:45 am

    Hi,
    guys I didn’t find the “tridvid.sys” as well. Could anyone send me the file on my email please?

    Cheers,

    n00by

    Reply
  • 8. fischmetzger  |  22 June 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Work this with Ubuntu 8.04 to ?

    Thanks
    fischmetzger

    Reply
  • 9. nexthing  |  22 June 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Dear fischmetzger,
    I’m trying to install Ubuntu 8.04 during these days. As soon as I’ll try DVB I leave a comment or a post upgrade.
    Bye.

    Reply
  • 10. Jake  |  8 August 2008 at 4:54 pm

    On Ubuntu 8.04, the compilation fails. If anyone has a solution…

    Reply
  • 11. Mike  |  15 August 2008 at 3:00 pm

    When i try to compile (ubuntu 8.04 server) using
    make
    ist says:
    File not found: /lib/modules/2.6.24-16-server/build/.config
    and stops.

    what goes wrong?

    Reply
  • 12. Mike  |  19 August 2008 at 8:22 pm

    I managed to get the compilation going, but i dont know, if its correct that way.
    dmesg does not say any error during the boot, and seems to install the driver correctly. but i can not find any tv-stations with my programs.

    anyway i did it as follows:

    sudo apt-get install kernel-package linux-headers-`uname -r`

    no the needed packages are installed.

    for the two error saying something with algo_control:
    this field does not exist in the definition of this data-type. so i decided to just delete those lines. (there are 2 lines containing algo_control)

    the second error is something like “too few parameters passed”:
    instead of this one line which causes the error i wrote the following two:
    short num[8]={0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7};
    ret = dvb_register_adapter (&tm6000_dev->dvb_adapter, “Trident TVMaster 6000 DVB-T”, THIS_MODULE, &dev->dev, num);

    i am realy not sure if that is a good solution, or if it just removes the compilation errors.

    i hope someone can use it.

    bye.

    Reply
  • 13. evilexilant  |  16 October 2008 at 11:16 am

    I’m trying to get this working. Modified the tm6000.c to match the changes in v4l, like the gone .algo_control field and the adapter number, however modprobe fails after a while.

    [ 9331.959119] tm6000: firmware2 transmitted
    [ 3999.049943] 7f
    [ 9332.977451] BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at virtual address 00000000

    Has anyone gotten this working with 8.04 or 8.10 or some recent linux? and if so, with what firmware?

    Reply
  • 14. Gavin  |  22 October 2008 at 10:45 am

    I get stuck at the Install stage: su -c “make install”
    Asks for password, which I have only one, I enter it and it says “Authentication Failure”.
    Can anyone help?
    Thanks

    Reply
  • 15. Gavin  |  22 October 2008 at 11:28 am

    Further to above, to fix the SU password problem do this at the terminal :-
    sudo passwd root
    then give it a new password
    su will now use the password you’ve entered.

    However, I’m using Ubuntu 8.04 and this compilation fails so I’ve now got the same problem as everyone else!

    Reply
  • 16. USB Freecom Hybrid DVB-T under Linux MythTV | John's blog  |  28 October 2008 at 1:27 am

    […] of the box but later thread postings pointed out that this was for the Digital only tuner.  This link had lots of information as did this and this one.  Several threads including these had […]

    Reply
  • 17. evilexilant  |  6 November 2008 at 10:03 am

    Gavin, just for the record: there’s no need to set a root password here, although that’s not such a bad thing to have. sudo make install works fine(usually sudo checkinstall is even better, but that fails here)

    Reply
  • 18. joe  |  18 November 2008 at 10:12 pm

    has anybody tried with 8.10? i fail with make because the kernel version is wrong (e.g. Preparing to compile for kernel version 2.6.22). any comments?

    Reply
  • 19. Lele  |  28 December 2008 at 9:37 pm

    I have this problem: “dmesg”
    firmware_sample_driver: Firmware not available
    tm6000: could not send firmware
    tm6000: probe of 3-2:1.0 failed with error -1
    usbcore: registered new interface driver tm6000

    while “lsmod | grep dvb” write: dvb_core

    Reply
  • 20. Ade  |  27 January 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Hi,

    I’ve just managed to get my freecom tuner to work. Just thought I’d post some info in case it helps someone.

    I followed the instructions above and managed to get it almost working but I found that the tridvid.sys file I have had the firmware at a different location. I have the Analog/Digital Freecom module.

    Here are the details of my tridvid.sys –

    Date: 15/07/2006
    Size: 165,760 bytes
    firmware1 offset: 115209
    firmware2 offset: 117857

    The firmware sizes are the same as above

    Reply
  • 21. Wiic  |  26 March 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Hi Ade,
    I have a LifeView LR535 with a TM6000 but I can’t extract the firmware. The “tridvid.sys” is around 137.000 bytes. I suppose that firmware 1 and 2 are the same sizes but, how can I find out the offsets inside the “tridvid.sys”? How could you found out the offsets for your “tridvid.sys” for your Freecom?
    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks 🙂

    Reply
  • 22. Phillip  |  2 October 2013 at 3:50 pm

    I enjoy reading through a post that will make people think. Also, many thanks for permitting me to comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Visitors to this site

Top Clicks

  • None

