Cinelerra Installation under Ubuntu Gutsy 7.10

20 December 2007 at 11:18 pm 5 comments

Hi. In the last period,I was very busy and I had no time to watch TV. So I decided to record my favorite TV programs and to watch them in a second time. In general I use Kaffeine to record the TV program with my DVB stick : it works very well. You can set timers and you can record one ore more transmission together if they belong to the same multiplex of the primary channel you are recording. I prefer to convert most of recorded programs in MPEG4 format, with a good quality and a reasonable amount of space used. It’s possible however that you need to store a particular program with a better quality, i.e. without compression. After a fast search I decided to install Cinelerra to edit such videos. Main steps:

1) update your sources list

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

with these extra repositories

#Cinelerra Ubuntu
deb http://giss.tv/~vale/ubuntu32 ./
deb-src http://giss.tv/~vale/ubuntu32 ./

2) Update :

sudo apt-get update

3) Install Cinelerra:

sudo apt-get install cinelerra

4) When you try to launch Cinelerra you have to fix this error:

"cinelerra: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

Try this (for me works):

sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 /usr/lib/libGL.so.1.2

5) Enjoy. I hope to test it in a short time and write some impressions.

Entry filed under: DVB, how-to, linux, software, video.

Stop with Fur Chinese Farm DVDStyler Installation under Ubuntu Gutsy 7.10

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. damarcius  |  22 December 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Hi, I can’t get past step number 4. I get the same error while trying to run for the first time:

    “cinelerra: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory”

    I tried copying “sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 /usr/lib/ligGL.so.1.2” but had no luck, I keep getting the same error.

    Haven’t been able to run Cinelerra yet. Please help!

    Reply
  • 2. damarcius  |  22 December 2007 at 10:40 pm

    OK. I managed to get Cinelerra to run after copying the following (if, as happended to me, you couldn’t manage to get past step 4, try pasting this in the terminal):

    sudo ln -s /usr/lib/nvidia/libGL.so.1.2.xlibmesa /usr/lib/libGL.so.1.2

    Got it from a Ubuntu Users forum in German. Noticed is adds something related to nvidia. I hace a GeForce 2 videocard, so I guess that was my problem…

    Hope it works for you too.

    Reply
  • 3. Chris  |  30 December 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks for the tutorial, worked like a champ.

    Small typo in this command
    sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 /usr/lib/ligGL.so.1.2

    should be
    sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 /usr/lib/libGL.so.1.2

    Reply
  • 4. nexthing  |  31 December 2007 at 9:03 am

    Thanks a lot Chris! I corrected the error!

    Reply
  • 5. pepe  |  5 February 2008 at 6:41 pm

    thanks, a lot!
    i’m looking for fix step 4 error for a long time!
    Now it works for me fine. in ubuntu feisty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Visitors to this site

Top Clicks

  • None

